A/R: Juaben Municipal Assembly fails to elect Presiding Member

The two candidates: (starting from left) Joseph Yaw Asare (incumbent) and Kwadwo Sarpong

Assembly members in the Juaben Municipality could not elect a Presiding Member (PM) after two rounds of voting, failed to produce a winning candidate.

Incumbent PM Joseph Yaw Asare polled 17 votes whilst Kwadwo Sarpong, a government appointee polled 7 votes. Two of the eligible voters were absent while another is dead.

This compelled the District Coordinating Director, Peter Antwi Boasiako to adjourn the sitting indefinitely after the contestants were unable to secure a two-thirds majority of the 28-member assembly to win the slot.

The development has been communicated to the Ashanti Regional Minister who is the acting Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for the area. The election of a Presiding Member will pave the way for Assemblymen to confirm a substantive Chief Executive.

Juaben was in the news recently after a rejected MCE nominee Alexander Sarfo Kantanka was caught in a viral video demanding a refund of an amount he paid to assemblymen to facilitate his endorsement.

The Office of the Special Prosecutor (OSP) which commenced investigations into the alleged bribery incident hauled Kantanka before a High Court in Kumasi.

He has pleaded not guilty to 26 counts of corruption.

Another appointee, Mr. Omane Aboagye has been nominated by the President for approval, six months after the incident.


Email Daily Mail GH: stories@dailymailgh.com or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here