Oppong Nkrumah, Hawa Koomson, Akoto sail through after midnight ballot


The three rejected ministerial nominees of President Akufo-Addo by the NDC caucus on the Appointments Committee have been approved by majority decision in Parliament.

The trio are Information Minister-designate Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Minister-designate of Food and Agriculture, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Mavis Hawa Koomson for Fisheries and Aquaculture.

At least 265 MPs voted during the wee hours of Thursday to approve them by majority decision.

Oppong Nkrumah polled 155 YES votes as against 110 NO votes representing 58.65% of total votes cast.

Koomson had 161 YES votes as against 104 NO votes representing 60.75% of total votes cast while Akoto obtained 143 YES votes as against 121 NO votes representing 53.96% of total votes cast.

A total of 265 MPs cast their votes in a secret ballot which ended around 2am on Thursday 4 March 2021.

Ten other ministerial nominees were approved by consensus.

They are: Albert Kan-Dapaah – National Security, Dominic Nitiwul – Defense, Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey – Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, Yaw Osei Adutwum – Education, and Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu – Parliamentary Affairs.

The rest are: Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh – Energy, Dan Botwe – Local government, decentralisation and rural development, Ambrose Dery – Interior, Ignatius Baffuor Awuah – Employment and Labour Relations and Sarah Adwoa Safo – Gender, Children and Social Protection.

Source: Daily Mail GH

Email Daily Mail GH: stories@dailymailgh.com or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here