Parliament approves Akufo-Addo’s Supreme Court nominees


Parliament has approved the President’s nomination of three persons as Justices to the supreme court.

The nominees are Justice Mariama Owusu, Justice Avril Lovelace-Johnson and Justice Gertrude Araba Esaba Torkornoo.

Presenting the report of the Appointment Committee, Chairman, Joseph Osei Owusu observed that the committee was satisfied with the submissions of the three when they appeared before the committee. According to him, they showed a great depth of knowledge in the law.

They have been appointed to replace three justices who are on retirement or are due for retirement by the end of the year including the Chief Justice Sophia Akuafo.

Justice Vida Akoto-Bamfo retired in February 2019 while Justice Sophia Adinyira retired in September 2019.

The current Chief Justice, Sophia Akuffo will retire on December 20, 2019. She is the only remaining Justice that was appointed to the Supreme Court by former president Jerry John Rawlings.

Per Article 144 (2), the President consults with the Council of State by submitting the names and curricula vitae of the nominees for appointment to the Supreme Court.

Also in accordance with Article 144 (2), the President has to seek the approval of Parliament for the appointment of the nominees as Justices of the Supreme Court.

The last Supreme Court appointments were made in July 2018.

Source: Daily Mail GH

Email Daily Mail GH: or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here