Ras Mubarak obtains zero in Council of State elections

Ras Mubarak
Ras Mubarak

Ras Mubarak, former National Democratic Congress (NDC) MP for Kumbungu, has lost his bid to represent the Northern Region on the Council of State.

Mubarak polled zero vote on Friday in an election won by chief Col. Mahmoud Tahiru (Rtd), who obtained 23 votes.

Chief Pishegu Alhassan Andani secured eight votes while another contender Rashid P. Mahama had one.

Mubarak has conceded and has also congratulated the winner.

“Congratulations to Chief Col. Rt. Mahmoud Tahiru who has been duly elected as the Northern Region’s representative on the Council of State,” he posted on Facebook.

E.T. Mensah wins

A former Sports Minister under the Jerry John Rawlings administration Enoch Teye Mensah has won the Council of State elections in the Greater Accra Region, local media reported Friday.

The former National Democratic Congress (NDC) MP for Ningo-Prampram beat competition from six others to emerge victorious in the election, reported the CNR.

The Greater Accra Regional Director of the Electoral Commission, Kwame Amoah in making the declaration indicated that Mr. ET Mensah, obtained 100 percent of all votes cast.

The other competitors, Nii Kotei Dzani; who is the immediate past members, Michael Kofi Mensah, Wilbeck Ato Sefah, John Mantse Akwetey, Nene Konor Atiapah III and Charles Andrew Parker-Allotey all did not get any vote.

No rep for Western Region; runoff slated for Monday

In the Western Region however, the electoral college failed to elect a representative after a stalemate between the top two candidates.

According to the CNR the two contenders out of five candidates, Eunice Buah, who is the incumbent and Nana Akomea, both secured 14 votes each out of the 28 votes cast.

The election witnessed some protests by some of the electorate after the acting District Chief Executive for Ellembelle, Kwesi Bonzoh, was allegedly seen taking a picture of his ballot.

One candidate withdrew ahead of the polls.

The Western Regional EC Director, Angela Tagoe who declared the results said the election would be rerun between the two come Monday, February 15.

Source: Daily Mail GH

Email Daily Mail GH: stories@dailymailgh.com or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here