Time ‘no dey’, let’s start work – Mahama to new NDC executives

Mr John Mahama addressing fishers at Nyanyanor
File photo: Mr John Mahama

Former president John Mahama has tasked the newly-elected national executives of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) to already hit the ground running to secure victory for the party in 2024.

Johnson Asiedu Nketiah, until this latest election as national chairman, had served as the general secretary of the party for the past 17 years. He received 5,569 votes (65.17% of the vote), as against his main contender, the immediate past chairman of the party, Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo, who garnered 2,892 votes (33.81%).

Fifi Kwetey, the former MP for Ketu South, becomes the party’s new general secretary.

“The first thing I will say is that this celebration must be very short,” Mahama said after the elections. “We must cut the celebration short and set to work immediately.”

He said the stakes are high in the 2024 elections.

“Some people say ‘fear delegates’ but I believe that the delegates have the best wisdom and they have spoken and told us what they want and it is our duty to work with the blueprint that they have given us.

“These gentlemen and women here have been elected by the delegates to serve a mandate till 2026,” Mahama added.

Full list of winners

National Chairman
Johnson Asiedu Nketiah

Vice chairpersons

Awudu Sofo Azourka – 1st Vice Chair
Dr Sherry Ayittey – 2nd Vice Chair
Yakubu Abanga Alhassan – 3rd Vice Chair

General Secretary
Fifi Fiavi Kwetey

Deputy General Secretary
Barbara Serwaa Asamoah
Gbande Foyo Mustapha

National Organiser
Joseph Yammin

Deputy National Organisers
Kobby Barlon
Elikem Kotoko

National Communications Officer
Sammy Gyamfi – Unopposed

Deputy National Communications Officers
Malik Basintale
Godwin Ako Gunn

National Zongo Caucus Coordinator
Mamah Cole Younger

NEC Members
Wonder Victor Kutor
Araba Tagoe
Cecilia Asaga
Victoria Kuma-Mintah
Ephraim Nii Tan Sackey

National Women’s Organiser
Hannah Louisa Bissiw

Deputy National Women’s Organiser
Abigail Akwambia
Dzifa Tegah

National Youth Organiser
George Opare Addo

Deputy National Youth Organiser

Osman Ayariga
Ruth Seddoh

Source: Daily Mail GH

Email Daily Mail GH: stories@dailymailgh.com or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here