Asiedu Nketiah selected as member of Parliamentary Service Board

Asiedu Nketiah

Ghana’s parliament has elected the General Secretary of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) Johnson Asiedu Nketiah to serve as member of the Parliamentary Service Board.

Other members of the board include Osei Kyei-Mensah Bonsu, MP for Suame and Majority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu, MP for Tamale South and Minority Leader and Abraham Aidoo, a former lawmaker.

Monday’s announcement follows earlier threats by the Speaker to forstall any further frustration should the special advisory committee set up for that purpose failed him.

The committee later submitted their report confirming the names to the Speaker.

The board will be chaired by the Speaker of Parliament.

About the board

The Parliamentary Service is governed by the Parliamentary Service Board, which is composed of the Speaker, as chairman; four other members appointed by the Speaker, acting in accordance with the advice of a Committee of Parliament; and the Clerk of Parliament.

The Board has the responsibility of promoting the welfare of Members of Parliament and Staff of the Service.

It also has general control of the management of the Service in matters of policy.

The Speaker has ultimate responsibility for the Service.

With the prior approval of Parliament, the Board makes regulations prescribing the terms and conditions of service of officers and other employees for the effective and efficient administration of the Service.

Source: Daily Mail GH with files from CNR

Email Daily Mail GH: or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here