Dambai named capital of Oti Region

President Akufo-Addo

Dambai has been named as the capital of the newly created Oti Region.

President Nana Akufo-Addo announced this on Friday at the Jubilee House in Accra.

President Akufo-Addo also presented the constitutional instrument for the creation of the new region to chiefs and opinion leaders of the area who were at Jubilee House on Friday.

This brings to six the total number of new regions who have had their constitutional instruments presented to their chiefs by the President.

Residents of the Oti Region gave a 99% YES vote in a referendum for the creation of the region held in December 2018.

Some districts that participated in the referendum included; Biakoye, Jasikan, Kadjebi, Krachi East, Krachi Nehumuru, Krachi West.

The rest are; Nkwanta North, Nkwanta South, Santrofi, Akpafu, Lolobi and Likpe.

Before the announcement of Dambai as the capital, residents of Nkwanta and Jasikan had campaigned for any of the two towns to be named as the capital of the Oti Region.

Capitals of other new regions named

President Akufo-Addo has since Tuesday, been presenting the constitutional instruments to chiefs in the newly created six new regions.

He used the events to name capitals for the new regions.

Nalerigu in the East Mamprusi Municipal Assembly was named as the capital of the North East Region.

Sefwi Wiawso was also named as the capital of the Western North Region while Ahafo Region has Goaso as its capital.

President Nana Akufo-Addo later in the week declared Techiman as the capital of the Bono East Region.

Already the government has set aside an amount of GHc20 million as seed capital for each of the new regions.

Source: Citinewsroom

Email Daily Mail GH: stories@dailymailgh.com or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here