Education Minister, 64 others contest unopposed in NPP Parliamentary Primaries

Manhyia South MP, Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh arriving at the Central Market
Manhyia South MP, Dr Matthew Opoku

Ghana’s Education Minister, Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh, will contest unopposed ahead of the ruling New Patriotic Party‘s June 20, parliamentary primaries.

The Manhyia South lawmaker is among 64 other MPs who will have to garner more votes to retain the seat for the party ahead of the country’s December 7, presidential and parliamentary elections.

Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum

Other notable figures include, MP for Bosomtwe, Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum who doubles as a Deputy Education Minister; Defence Minister and MP for Bimbilla, Dominic Nitiwul, Parliamentary Affairs Minister and MP for Suame, Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu.

MP for Asokwa and Deputy Environment Minister, Patricia Appiagyei, Assin Central MP, Kennedy Agyapong and MP for Effutu, Alexander Afenyo Markin are all going unopposed.

This is the fourth time Dr Prempeh, affectionately called NAPO, is representing the Manhyia South Constituency in Parliament. He has been tipped to have an overwhelming victory.

Kennedy Agyapong

The party on April 14, 2020, suspended its planned April 25, 2020, parliamentary primaries indefinitely in accordance with the President’s ban on public gatherings in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic in Ghana.

There are, however, widespread agitations after some of the aspirants were disqualified from the race. 

See full list of the Aspirants ahead of the Parliamentary Primaries

By Jonathan Ofori, Daily Mail GH

Email Daily Mail GH: or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here