Morocco, Spain, Portugal to host 2030 FIFA World Cup


Morocco, Spain, and Portugal have been designated as the hosts for the 2030 World Cup, with Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay set to host the opening matches in celebration of the tournament’s centenary, according to FIFA, the global governing body for soccer.


The joint bid from Morocco, Portugal, and Spain emerged as the solitary contender to host the event, a decision that FIFA had initially planned to unveil in the coming year.


The inaugural World Cup in 1930 was held in Uruguay, where the hosts emerged victorious. Spain’s successful bid comes shortly after their former leader, Luis Rubiales, faced allegations of sexual assault during the Women’s World Cup, leading to his resignation.


FIFA’s announcement on Wednesday signifies a historic milestone, marking the first time the World Cup will be spread across three continents and six different countries. This unique arrangement may necessitate group stage matches being held in varying seasons, depending on the respective hemispheres.


“The FIFA Council unanimously agreed that the sole candidacy will be the combined bid of Morocco, Portugal, and Spain, which will host the event in 2030 and qualify automatically from the existing slot allocation,” FIFA said in a statement.


“Additionally, having taken into account the historical context of the first-ever FIFA World Cup, the FIFA Council further unanimously agreed to host a unique centenary celebration ceremony in the country’s capital, Montevideo… as well as three World Cup matches in Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay respectively.”

Email Daily Mail GH: or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here