Stephen Ntim is new NPP chairman after five attempts

Stephen Ntim
Stephen Ntim

Stephen Ayesu Ntim has been elected the chairman of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) at the party’s annual national delegates’ conference in Accra.

Ntim obtained 4,014 (72.76%) as against his main contender Stephen Asamoah Boateng who garnered 1, 010 (18.31%)

Sammy Crabbe received 32 (0.58) votes, George Kwabena Abankwah-Yeboah had 294 (5.33%) votes. Gifty Asantewa Ayeh, aka Daavi Ama had 44 (0.80%) votes Professor Christopher Ameyaw-Akumfi had 101 (1.83%) votes and Akwasi Osei-Adjei also had 20 (0.36%) votes.

On the general secretary position, Justine Kodua Frimpong garnered 2, 837 votes to beat the incumbent candidate John Boadu who had 2, 524 votes. 

Also Iddrisu Musah had 104 votes, Ramseyer Agyemang-Prempeh had eight votes and Frederick Opare-Ansah had 50.

Interestingly, Charles Bissue who pulled out of the general secretary race also secured 12 votes.

In his acceptance speech, the new national chairman of the NPP said, “the new national executive will work assiduously for the party to win Election 2024 in conjunction with our Members of Parliament and our members in the Diaspora. I’m grateful to my supporters and the party for giving me a memorable 64th birthday present.”

Ntim added, “Finally, it’s been 20 long years of wandering in the wilderness before clinching this position as national chairman of the New Patriotic Party and I assure you that I’m going to cherish the chairmanship position. I will value the chairmanship position and I will make sure that it will be a unique position that will remain enviable for anybody to aspire…”

Prior to the elections, some party stalwarts called on delegates to elect leaders who could help the NPP “break the eight”. 

Source: Daily Mail GH

Email Daily Mail GH: or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here