By-election: NPP retains Ejisu seat


The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has successfully retained the parliamentary seat in a crucial by-election with their candidate Kwabena Boateng securing 55.79% of the total votes cast.

Kwabena Boateng garnered 27,782 votes, emerging as the winner against his closest contender, former MP Kwabena Owusu Aduomi, who ran as an independent candidate and received 43.24% of the votes with 21,536 votes.

The total voter turnout was recorded at 49.1%.

Other candidates in the election included Esther Osei of the CPP with 89 votes (0.2%), Beatrice Boakye of the LPG with 149 votes (0.3%), Gabriel Agyemang Joseph (independent) with 222 votes (0.4%), and Attakorah Joseph (independent) with 23 votes (0.05%).

During the election, allegations of vote-buying were made by Mr. Aduomi against the NPP, which were refuted by Henry Nana Boakye, the NPP’s National Organiser, as an attempt to sway sympathy votes.

The Electoral Commission (EC) had to withdraw two officials due to allegations of bribery, as captured in a circulating video on social media.

Dr. Serebour Quaicoe, the EC’s Director of Electoral Services, urged caution and refrained from condemning the officials until investigations are completed.

The Ejisu parliamentary seat was declared vacant following the passing of MP Dr. John Kumah on 7 March 2024.


Email Daily Mail GH: or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here