Akufo-Addo elevates three Appeal Court judges to the Supreme Court

Flashback: Supreme Court Judges of Ghana with Sophia Adinyira (during her retirement) on the right in the front row with the chief justice Sophia Akuffo

Ghana’s president Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has nominated three justices to the Supreme Court of the West African country.

The trio will be vetted by Parliament before being given the nod per the 1992 Constitution of Ghana.

The three nominees are Justice Mariama Owusu, Justice Lovelace Johnson and Justice Gertrude Tokornoo. They are all Appeals court judges.

They have been appointed to replace three justices who are on retirement or are due for retirement by the end of the year including the Chief Justice Sophia Akuafo.

This announcement was made by the speaker of parliament on Tuesday in parliament.

Justice Vida Akoto-Bamfo retired in February 2019 while Justice Sophia Adinyira retired in September 2019.

The current Chief Justice, Sophia Akuffo will retire on December 20, 2019. She is the only remaining Justice that was appointed to the Supreme Court by former president Jerry John Rawlings.

Per Article 144 (2), the President consults with the Council of State by submitting the names and curricula vitae of the nominees for appointment to the Supreme Court.

Also in accordance with Article 144 (2), the President has to seek the approval of Parliament for the appointment of the nominees as Justices of the Supreme Court.

The last Supreme Court appointments were made in July 2018.

By Emmanuel Amewugah, Daily Mail GH

Email Daily Mail GH: stories@dailymailgh.com or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here