EC disqualifies five presidential aspirants; Akufo-Addo, Mahama sail through

Mahama and Akufo-Addo

The Electoral Commission (EC) has disqualified five presidential hopefuls ahead of the 2020 elections.

Speaking at a press conference in Accra on Monday, October 19, 2020, the chairperson of the EC, Jean Mensa, said the five breached certain electoral regulations regarding the filing of the forms.

The five are:

1. Kofi Koranteng

2. Marricke Kofi Gane

3. Akwasi Odike (United Progressive Party)

4. Kwesi Busumburu (People’s National Party)

5. Agyenim Boateng (United Front Party)

Cases that bother on allegations of forgery of signatures and manufacturing of endorsees will be forwarded to the Police Criminal Investigation Department (CID) for further probe.

Meanwhile, the EC explained that the GHS100,000 filing fee will be refunded to the said candidates in line with the rules surrounding the process.

Here are the candidates for the 2020 Presidential Election as announced by the EC today:

1. Alfred Walker

2. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

3. Christian Kwabena Andrews

4. Bridgette Dzobegnuku

5. John Dramani Mahama

6. Akua Donkor

7. Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings

8. Hassan Ayariga

9. Ivor Greenstreet

10. Henry Herbert Lartey

11. Kofi Akpaloo

12. David Apesera

Source: Daily Mail GH

Email Daily Mail GH: or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here