Kumawu by-election: Battle lines drawn; 6 candidates placed on ballots

The candidates in group picture with party reps and other stakeholders

The battle lines for the by-election in the Ashanti Region town of Kumawu have been drawn, with six candidates picking various positions on the ballot to be used for the May 23, 2022, contest.

The balloting, which was held at the Sekeyere Kumawu District Office of the Electoral Commission on Friday (5 May) was supervised by top officials from the election management body. Whereas some aspirants took part in the balloting themselves, others delegated their representatives to do so on their behalf.

Unlike other balloting in the past that was characterised by singing, drumming, and funfair, the exercise was calm and quiet.

Full list

Ebenezer Boakye Yiadom (CPP) – 1
Akuoko Collins (LPG) -2
Ernest Yaw Anim (NPP) -3
Kwasi Amankwah (NDC) -4
Duah Kwaku (Independent) -5
Kwaku Duah (Independent) -6

GFP withdraws

The founder and leader of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP) Akua Donkor could not file nominations for her candidate Isaac Boateng.

The Electoral Commission (EC) which has officially closed nominations, is expected to publish the certified list of the candidates and their positions on the ballot in the coming days. Meanwhile, in separate interviews, some of the aspirants expressed delight about their positions on the ballot and justified their positions with Biblical analysis and political interpretations.


Parliament, before adjourning sine die for the Easter holidays, notified the Electoral Commission (EC) of the need to conduct a by-election in the Kumawu Constituency following the death of Philip Basoah, the NPP MP for the area.

The EC has set 23 May for the by-election.

Basoah, 53, was a member of the Seventh Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

Email Daily Mail GH: stories@dailymailgh.com or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here