Kumawu By-election: Voting underway to select NPP parliamentary candidate


Voting is progressing steadily on the ongoing parliamentary primary of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Kumawu Constituency of the Ashanti Region.

About 438 delegates, drawn from 25 electoral areas have gathered at the Philip Basoah Community Center at Besoro, to cast their ballot.

The election started at 11:40 am. The party’s council of elders and constituency executives, were first cast their ballots.

Security has been beefed up to prevent any eventuality. The election is supervised by the Electoral Commission (EC).

Five candidates contesting the parliamentary slot are: Ama Serwaah, Dr Da-costa Aboagye, Ernest Yaw Anim, Kwame Appiah Kubi and Osei Bempah Hwereh.

Three aspirants, Philip Banor, Lawyer Edward Kofi Osei, and Opanin Yaw Baah, earlier withdrew from the contest.

Party stalwarts took turns to advise delegates and candidates to accept the outcome of the elections in the interest of peace.

Below are some pictures from the ground 


Email Daily Mail GH: stories@dailymailgh.com or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here