NDC Primaries: Two incumbent MPs win primaries in Ashanti region


The opposition National Democratic Congress’ elections held Saturday across the country, saw two incumbent Members of Parliament declared as winners in the Ashanti Region, the ruling party’s stronghold.

In a hotly contested race, Member of Parliament for Ejura Sekyedumase, Muhammad Bawa Braimah has been given the nod by delegates to lead the party in the 2020 parliamentary elections.

He polled 921 votes representing 87.55 percent of the total valid votes while Peter Aboagye, his main contender polled 106. A third contestant, Tawfic Mudastus also secured 25 votes representing 2.4 percent of valid votes.

A total of 1,058 out of 1,125 delegates voted in the elections with six rejected ballots.

Mr Braimah, who was the Municipal Chief Executive for Ejura-Sekyedumase under the Mahama administration, is set to seek re-election ahead of the 2020 polls.

Sekyere Afram Plains MP

He will face the likes of Mohammed Salisu Bamba, the current Municipal Chief Executive of the area—who will also represent the ruling New Patriotic Party in the next elections.

Meanwhile, with 219 votes, Alex Adomako Mensah, was also endorsed by delegates in the Sekyere Afram Plains Constituency.

His closest contender and a former District Chief Executive, Donkor Fuseini pulled a surprising vote of 75 while Dennis Owusu Dankwah, another contender bagged 145 votes.

A total of 442 delegates cast their votes. Three of the ballots were rejected.

By J. Ofori, Daily Mail GH

Email Daily Mail GH: stories@dailymailgh.com or
Whatsapp: +233(0)509928122


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here